ICTV Membership

Official ICTV members have the responsibility to vote on the approval of new taxonomic proposals as well as proposals for changes in ICTV governing Statutes and the Code of Virus Classification and Nomenclature. Members consist of Executive Committee (EC) members, Subcommittee members, Study Group chairs, Life members, and National members. EC members are selected through votes of the full membership or Executive Committee; Subcommittee members and SG chairs are appointed by Subcommittee chairs; Life members are selected by a vote of the full membership, and National members are nominated by Member Societies of the Virology Division of the International Union of Microbiological Societies.