EXTRACT FROM:

MINUTES OF THE 9TH MEETING OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE I.C.T.V.

held in The Hague 28-29 August and September 1978

Members present:

- President R.E.F. MATTHEWS
- H.W. ACKERMANN
- J.G. ATHERTON
- A. EISENSTARK
- H. FRAENKEL-CONRAT
- R.I.B. FRANCKI
- A.J. GIBBS
- J. MAURIN
- F.A. MURPHY
- E. NORRBY
- H. PEREIRA
- A, RHODES
- T. TINSLEY
- J. van der WANT
- V. VALENTA

Apologies from

Dr. HOLLINGS, Dr. MARAMOROSCH and Dr. ZHDAINOV

.

E9/21 - Herpesviridae taxonomy

On the invitation of the President, Dr. ROIZMAN explained the proposals for subfamilies within the *Herpesviridae*.

Three subfamilies with the names *Alphaherpesvirinae*, *Betaherpesvirinae* and *Gammaherpesvirinae* were approved unanimously. Since these subfamilies had not been considered as a taxonomic proposal by the Vertebrate Virus Subcommittee, the proposal will be referred back to this subcommittee. If approved, ratification by I.C.T.V. will be sought by postal vote.

[No records of the views of the subcommittee or the vote have been traced, but these three subfamilies are listed in the ICTV 3rd report published in 1979 indicating that the proposal had been approved]